Wall Street 2: Money Never Sleeps by Dave

The original Wall Street (1987) starring Michael Douglas as evil business mogul-Gordon Gekko- alongside naive Charlie Sheen as Bud Fox- the persistent stockbroker- was and remains to be an iconic film. It demonstrates all the excesses and lavish lifestyle, politics, and drama that imbues the upper echelons of big business. This was before Enron and the GFC. Indeed it was a cautionary tale, but there seems to be no better time than now to see the far reaching consequences of its message. Fittingly, it’s just about time for the release of Wall Street 2: Money Never Sleeps.

Wall Street 2: Money Never Sleeps

The expected release date is late September- probably the 24th. So what should we expect?

I sincerely hope the script is formidable- although I currently have my doubts. Having seen the trailer numerous times, I’m still left wondering as to the direction of the plot. Sure, there were a few comical moments such as when Gekko is given back his ‘state-of-the-art’ mobile telephone: once symbolizing the technological front line; now it’s best used as a doorstop. In fact it’s probably even too large to be a door stop! There seems to be a few key moments of brilliant reflection, but I sure hope- for the viewing public and for those involved in its production- that there is something more.

My fear lies in the character of Jacob, played by Shia LaBeouf. Whilst I can easily see him fitting into a dynamic, wide-eyed role similar to Bud Fox played by Sheen in the original, I have concerns about his transformer-ish something. Sound vague? Well it is! To me, Wall Street is about as far away from Optimus Prime and the Autobots as the north pole is from the south. Maybe this fear is the product of my imagination. Maybe not. Only time will tell I guess.

Either way, I’ll see it. I’ll probably enjoy it- even if I’m forced to rush home and cradle the original video in the fetal position whilst reciting over and over: “greed is good… greed is good… greed is good”. Let’s hope Oliver Stone, the director, brings his A-game.

Of course, in my opinion the real Wall Street film is due to be released in 2011:The Wolf of Wall Street– based on the life of Jordan Belfort.

Explore posts in the same categories: Film Previews

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Wall Street 2: Money Never Sleeps by Dave”

  1. Neil Says:

    I also have my doubts with LaBeouf, as well as with an aging Douglas. Hopefully he brings his A Game too.

    Release date for ‘The Wolf of Wall Street’ has been pushed back to 2013, I’ve read.

    • filmstank Says:

      It would not surprise me if ‘The Wolf of Wall Street’ had been pushed back. I think, originally, it was meant to hit the screens in 2010.

      I was at a seminar with ‘the wolf’, Jordan Belfort, earlier in the year. He assured the audience that filming would finish later in 2010, with an expected release date in 2011.

      However, this is also the same gentleman who conned thousands of innocent shareholders out of millions of dollars in the mid 1990’s through stock market manipulation. Who ya going to trust? 😉

      I truly hope LaBeouf surprises me.

      Dave @ filmstank

    • filmstank Says:

      I have conducted a little research. Not only is the film postponed again, apparently Scorsese has given it over to Ridley Scott!

      I wonder if this means that DiCaprio will follow?

      This was according to comingsoon.net.

      Has Scott ever worked with DiCaprio? My first thought is no. Could be interesting.

      Dave @ filmstank

      • Sam Says:

        Hi Dave.

        Scott has worked with DiCaprio, on the film Body of Lies. Not a bad film too.

        Thanks,

        Sam @ filmstank.

      • filmstank Says:

        @ Sam

        Interesting. I’m going to watch Body of Lies. I’ll get back to you re: my thoughts.

        In your opinion, who did DiCaprio have better chemistry with, Scorsese or Scott?

        Dave @ filmstank

      • Neil Says:

        I myself thought Body Of Lies was mediocre at heart, but quite a stylish film in the hands of Ridley. Ridley these days is very hit-and-miss (perfect example is American Gangster), but it would interesting to see DiCaprio and himself teaming up for this. I think it could be a very amiable film.


Leave a Reply

