Top 10 Comedies by Sam

Let me tell you, this has been one of the more difficult lists to conjure up. I am a big fan of a good comedy, and there have been many great comedies over the course of the last 20 years, hence the difficulty in creating the list. I expanded the list to 10, which was still an arduous task, but nonetheless, here it is, the top 10 comedies of all time.

10. Wedding Crashers (2005)

Directed by David Dobkin

Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson proved in the film to be one of the greatest comedy duos of the last decade. The humour they provided in this film was of such a high standard, and had me laughing my head off at almost every scene. A great comedy, and a well deserved place on this list.








9. Hot Rod (2007)

Directed by Akiva Schaffer

One of the most “laugh out loud” movie experiences I have ever encountered. I watched this film at my home with a large group of guys, and without a doubt, every single one of us were in tears at some point laughing at this film. You can imagine, then, why I’ve added it to the list.








8. Big Daddy (1999)

Directed by Dennis Dugan

Big Daddy is a classic Adam Sandler film, and undoubtedly is his greatest comedy so far. It has a great script, and a great performance by Sandler, and is one of those iconic comedies of the 90’s. Well, in my mind anyway.










7. Dodgeball (2004)

Directed by Rawson Marshall Thurber

Another one of those “laugh out loud” type comedies. Vaughn once again delivers some good stuff as the hero of the film, but the real highlight of this film goes without saying, but I’ll say it anyway. Ben Stiller portrays such a funny character in this film, and gives audiences good reason why his films perform so well at the box-office – he’s a funny guy.






6. Zoolander (2001)

Directed by Ben Stiller

Once again, Stiller hits the list, and with the well deserved Zoolander. Written and directed by the man himself, Ben Stiller delivered a great comedic film, and really began the trend of outrageous, stupid humour in modern films. I will be honest and say that it took me multiple viewings of Zoolander to actually realise the greatness that it was – but nonetheless, here be Zoolander sitting comfortably at number 5.





5. The School of Rock (2003)

Directed by Richard Linklater

You either love Jack Black, or you dislike Jack Black – and I love the bloke. When I first watched The School of Rock, I was aware of Black, and I knew he had done some films prior, but I don’t think I had fully realised his capability. This film was where our relationship really began to flourish, and I understood the greatness of his humour. The School of Rock is a well-written comedy, and an excellent performance by Black and his peers.




4. Anchorman (2004)

Directed by Adam McKay

What is there to be said about Anchorman? ‘Silly’ humour at its finest provided by the man himself, Will Ferrell, with one of the funniest performances of his career. Also, a great supporting cast with the likes of Paul Rudd, Steve Carrell and Christina Applegate who all add a great comedic element to the film. Laughs all round.







3. Dumb and Dumber (1994)

Directed by Peter Farrelly

Another one of those ‘laugh out loud’ films in which I literally cried laughing in an uncountable amount of scenes. Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels were superb as the leading comedy duo in this film, and their performances were timed brilliantly. A brilliant comedy, and a well deserved number 3 on the list.









2. The Hangover (2009)

Directed by Todd Phillips

The Hangover is a brilliant comedy of all aspects. It has an excellent story line, great performances, and holds a high standard in the humour it uses. I was overwhelmingly impressed by the high quality of The Hangover, and was repeatedly laughing out aloud in the cinema. This film is definitely deserving of its position in 2nd place.







1. Groundhog Day (1993)

Directed by Harold Ramis

Without a doubt, Groundhog Day is my all-time favourite comedy. Bill Murray is in his prime here, and his comedic timing is perfect. The concept of a man living the same day over and over is excellent, and it provides for some great laughs all over the place. This film never fails to entertain me no matter how many times I watch it. Harold Ramis hit the high point of his directing career with Groundhog Day, putting it at number one position on my list.







I can feel you wanting to let me in on some of the comedies you think should’ve made it to the list. I know that I didn’t add some of you all time favourites, so lash out in the comments below.

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Lists

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Top 10 Comedies by Sam”

  1. Con G Says:

    Monthy Python and The Holy Grail. The Party. Dr. Strangelove. Come on, Sam!

  2. Riki Says:

    Death at a funeral?

  3. Neil Says:

    The Party is awesome. Also, The Big Lebowski, Sideways, Shaun Of The Dead, The Truman Show, Love Actually, Knocked Up, Four Weddings & A Funeral- and Happy Gilmore is surely a much a better Adam Sandler film than Big Daddy, don’t you recon?

    Groundhog Day is a classic, I’ll give you that. Hot Rod and Wedding Crashers are also pretty decent.

  4. David Says:

    Dear Sam,

    I consider your list to be quite satisfactory, albeit somewhat ‘newschool’- with the exception of ‘Ground Hog Day’ and, to a lessor extent, ‘Dumb and Dumber’.

    “Ned Riorson… BING!”

    “Sweet Vermouth on the rocks with a twist please?”
    “That’s my favourite drink”…”Mine too!”

    Classic Comedy.

    Although I am a little shocked that you could include ‘Big Daddy’ and the likes of ‘Happy Gilmore’ and ‘Billy Madison’ are absent.

    “What are you looking at SWAN!”
    “It’s too damn hot for penguin to just be WALKIN’ around!”

    Come on!

    Having said all this, no doubt this was not an easy list to compile. You are quite brave.

    Dave @ filmstank


Leave a Reply

