Predators Film Review by Sam

It’s been quite a long time since I’ve seen Arnie strut his stuff in the original Predator and whilst that film wasn’t the greatest work of art I’ve seen, I was still quite intrigued to see Predators. Before we jump into the review, I would like to answer some questions people may or may not be thinking about the film. Firstly, Predators isn’t a remake or prequel. It’s a sequel to the original two Predator films. Secondly, Predators disregards any information revealed in the Alien vs. Predator films, as the director himself states, “it was… the AVP films we’ve dismissed.” 1

Now that that’s clear, let’s move forward with the review.

Whilst I was intrigued to see Predators, I didn’t have a whole lot to go on. I think the best I had was a few T.V. spots here and there. I didn’t know what it was about, and I wasn’t sure where it was going with the franchise, it just looked like it could be a bit of fun.

And that’s what it was, a bit of fun. The story line was actually interesting; a group of people are thrown off a plane onto an unknown island and start getting hunted for some reason, (let me assure you, there is a reason). It reminded me a fair bit of The Condemned, where people are thrown onto an island to fight in a battle to the death, and I actually enjoyed that film, so naturally I was pleased with the set-up provided in Predators.

The direction of the film was fine, and it made the film easy to understand. The location was great for a film like this. Some of the effects were a little under par, which was a little distracting at times, but luckily the film didn’t rely heavily on special effects – so it wasn’t overly frustrating.

Adrien Brody portrays the hero in Predators.

Whilst a majority of the film’s dialogue was well written, and served what the creators of the films were going for, I felt that Adrien Brody in his role as the hero had a lot of cliché lines. His delivery didn’t help too much as well, so I guess it was a combination of him trying to be the tough guy and the writers wanting him to be the hero that made it somewhat corny. I will say that it was pretty cool to see Brody as the action-hero as oppose to a lot of the other roles he has done in his career, just thought I’d mention that.

It was interesting to note how many famous people were in this, Adrien Brody, Laurence Fishburne and Topher Grace (best known for his work on That 70’s Show). I actually thought it was pretty cool when each of these characters were introduced, and I though to myself, “hey, it’s that guy, I didn’t realise he was in this.” Respect for their contribution to this film.

Predators has done a good job of rebooting the franchise with a fresh and unique approach to the film, whilst also maintaining the elements we loved about the original. This film, like its predecessors will most likely steer clear of critic adoration and acclamation, and probably won’t win many, if any of the most esteemed awards, but for me, it was great fun, and good entertainment.

3.5 film reels.





1. http://www.collider.com/2010/05/06/director-nimrod-antal-predators-int erview-on-set-read-listen-here/

Explore posts in the same categories: Film Reviews

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

