The Top 5 Best Movie Sequels by Sam

I’m sure most of you know of the idea that a sequel is always much worse than the original. In most cases, this is the case. But every once in a while, there is the occasional sequel that matches the originality, creativity and finesse of the first one. I decided I would assemble a list that I think are the greatest movie sequels.

Let me highlight that when I say sequels it can include trilogies, quadrilogies, sagas and so forth. Also, I am not confined to selecting an entire series of films (e.g. I can select the 3rd film from a quadrilogy, without having to select the entire quadrilogy). Does that make sense? I’ll assume you said yes.

And on that note, let’s begin.

Top 5 Best Sequels

5. Shrek 2 (2004)

Directed by Andrew Adamson, Kelly Asbury and Conrad Vernon
Shrek 2 Poster
Shrek 2 was a sequel to one of the many great-animated features, Shrek. I remember seeing this film at the cinema with my family and thinking, wow, to think they have still got it in them to write a sequel that is on par with the greatness of the first film. It’s a shame that can’t be said about the third film. The fourth one is much better, but still not up to the standards that those first two set.



4. The Bourne Ultimatum (2007)

Directed by Paul Greengrass
Bourne Ultimatum PosterLet me tell you a funny story about my first viewing of The Bourne Ultimatum. I was sitting in the cinema watching the film, and when the final 15-20 minutes of the film came, all of the audio just cut out. We all missed the explanations and twists that the film brought, and so I was extremely disappointed, and for some reason I blamed the film. When I gave it a second chance on DVD, I was extremely glad. In my opinion this film is better than the first two – the raw, edgy camera work, the awesome storyline, and the fast paced action are all elements that added to the greatness that this film is – and so Ultimatum joins the list.



3. Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

Directed by Peter Jackson
Return of the King posterWhat is there to say about The Lord of the Rings trilogy? It is an awesome trilogy, arguably the best of all time, and not only did both The Two Towers and Return of the King make a great contribution to the trilogy, Return of the King even surpassed the greatness of the second and possible even the first– a feat rarely seen.






2. Toy Story 2 (1999) & Toy Story 3 (2010)

Directed by John Lasseter (Toy Story 2) and Lee Unkrich (Toy Story 3)
Toy Story PosterAgain, there is not much to say about the Toy Story films that will sum up their greatness. Toy Story 1 and 2 are among the list of my favourite childhood films. I could watch them over and over, come to think of it; I still can watch them over and over. I love movies like this that never grow old, no matter what age group a person belongs to. And not only did Toy Story 2 meet the expectations of the first film, 11 years later in the year of 2010, Toy Story 3 did too. What a brilliant series of films!




1. The Dark Knight (2008)

Directed by Christopher Nolan
The Dark Knight PosterOf course, it is the one and only! Christopher Nolan set the standards high when he rebooted the Batman franchise with Batman Begins. This new world we saw Batman living in was dark and decrepit – and we loved every second of it. Little did we know three years later Nolan was working on a bigger and better sequel known as The Dark Knight. Not only is this one of the greatest sequels ever produced, it’s actually one of the greatest stand-alone films to be produced. It clearly is no surprise then, that this film gets the title of Number 1 for my list of the Best Movie Sequels.

Let me know if you have any other sequels you thought should’ve been on the list, or if you think any of the sequels I’ve listed shouldn’t be on there.

By the way, soon to come – a list of the Top 5 WORST Movie sequels.

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Lists

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “The Top 5 Best Movie Sequels by Sam”

  1. Con G Says:

    Empire Strikes Back is the single greatest sequel ever made. My god.

  2. Ben Says:

    the dark knight. agreed.


Leave a Reply

