Top 5 Overrated Films by Sam

During the course of my life, I have had many an opportunity to watch a film that I either watched because it had received critical acclaim and then thought it to be horrible, or that I watched, thought “that was horrible” and it has then gone on to receive critical acclaim. This has often frustrated me, and so I thought I would compile a list of the top 5 most overrated films, in my opinion.

Before we start, I must make it clear that just because the following films are on the list it does not necessarily mean I didn’t like them, just that I think they’re overrated. You’ll know when I didn’t like a film.

Okay, GO!

5. Juno (2007)

Directed by Jason Reitman

Juno PosterWhen I watched this at the movies, it was because nothing else was on. I went to the cinema in a large group of people, and they were watching a movie I had already seen, so I watched this instead. When it ended, I thought, “Yeah, that was okay, not great, but okay.” Let me tell you I was surprised at how adored it was by the critics. Yeah it had its merits, such as Ellen Page’s performance, but I just didn’t think the film on a whole was as good as the critics made it out to be.



4. The Hurt Locker (2009)

Directed by Kathryn Bigelow

The Hurt Locker PosterI’ve made this clear in my review of The Hurt Locker, but I thought this film got way too much critical praise and awards than it deserved. I was shocked and devastated that this film won Best Picture and Best Director as well as the 4 other Academy Awards it won at the 2010 Academy Awards. I first watched this film before it had won any awards and my initial reaction was, it was okay, but definitely not Best Picture worthy. The fact that it won so many awards is the reason it’s appearing on this list. As I’ve watched it again since I first wrote the review, I do realise the film has its merits, and I recognise it is a “good” film. But it shouldn’t have won so many awards.

3. Crash (2004)

Directed by Paul Haggis

Crash PosterNow, when I watched this film, it was on DVD at one of my mates’ house, and we hadn’t heard of it, and we were just watching it for the sake of filling in time. It wasn’t til a couple of years later when I started getting into films and the like that I found I this film had actually gone on to win Best Picture at the Academy Awards. I was surprised to say the least. This movie felt like a straight to DVD movie, albeit one of the better ones, and it had a good cast to its name, but that’s it. It shouldn’t have won the awards it did.


2. There Will Be Blood (2007)

Directed by Paul Thomas Anderson

There Will Be Blood PosterThis was a film I was really excited for prior to watching it. I had heard it was nominated for all types of awards, and was receiving critical acclaim, and I thought it looked like a film right up my alley. I was wrong. The 158 minutes of running time were the most boring of my life. (Probably a slight exaggeration, but you get my point). The movie never went anywhere (anywhere worthwhile at least), and it made little sense why a film like this was considered to be so great. Yes, Daniel Day-Lewis delivered a good performance, and yes, the cinematography was great, but they weren’t enough to make this film an enjoyable watch, hence this film being on the list


1. Lost In Translation (2003)

Directed by Sofia Coppola

Lost in Translation PosterWell, well, well… Lost in Translation. How on earth did you manage to make it to number 1 for my list of overrated films? Here’s how!

This film was recommended to my parents by some of their friends who claimed it was a great film and we should watch it whenever we get the chance. So we did just that. We hired the film at our local video store, and put it in the DVD player. I remember sitting there with my parents the entire time trying to figure out what was going on. I remember laughing twice, and I personally don’t think it’s a good thing if you can remember how many times you laughed in a film, as well as being able to count it on one hand! We weren’t sure if it was a comedy, or a full-blown drama, or what, but one thing we did know, was that we didn’t enjoy it. It wasn’t til years later that I found out not only had our friends enjoyed it, but so did the critics. This has always had me bamboozled, as I really didn’t enjoy the film – hence Lost in Translation hitting number one on the list.

Honourable Mentions

I would like to mention a couple more films that didn’t make the list for various reasons. Number one is Shakespeare In Love. The reason it’s not on the list is because, quite frankly, I haven’t seen it. The reason I have mentioned it is because it beat Saving Private Ryan for Best Picture at the Academy Awards. No film should have beaten Saving Private Ryan for Best Picture. Enough said.

I would also like to mention Napoleon Dynamite. This reason this film isn’t on the list is because I decided I would only put films on the list that have been critically adored, and to the best of my knowledge, that is not the case for this film. I decided to give some mention to this film because so many people claim it to be one of the funniest movies, and when I watched this film with my brother, we were both utterly disappointed and confused – both of which are not good reactions on the conclusion of a film.

There you have it. My very own list of what I consider to be the Top 5 Overrated Films. What do you think? Agree? Disagree? Let me know in the comments below.

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Lists

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Top 5 Overrated Films by Sam”

  1. Neil Says:

    I remember me and you having a mad debate over There Will Be Blood and Lost In Translation. I actually believe both were not presented with all the accolades they deserved but yeah, that’s just me. Very much agreeable on Juno and Crash. Juno I did enjoy but it was not Best Screenplay Oscar material, and Crash was also purely a political choice over any other Best Picture film that year. Although I will say this- Shakespeare In Love did not deserve to win over Saving Private Ryan, but it, along with There Will Be Blood and Lost In Translation, stand in my Top 20 Favourite Films.

    Top 5 Over-rated Films:

    5. Avatar
    4. Chicago
    3. Titanic
    2. Clerks
    1. Borat (Best Original Screenplay nominee- idiocy)

  2. filmstank Says:

    Yes I was also thinking of that conversation as I wrote this. I can see the merit in your decision of overrated films, although I, respectfully, disagree with 5, 4 and 3. I am yet to endure the entirety of Borat, and I haven’t seen Clerks yet.

    I am interested to find out what everyones list of overrated films are. Thanks for your comment brother. Appreciate it.

  3. kimlovesjozi Says:

    Hi Sam, this is great. I love reading blogs and am always looking for good ones that hold my attention and yours does! I look forward to future posts. I just want to say that I HATED Shakespeare in Love, and that is coming from someone who loves English and spent far too long studying it at university. I can’t believe it won any awards. Seriously one of the worst movies I have ever seen!

    Keep writing!

    Kim.

    • filmstank Says:

      That’s awesome Kim! Thanks heaps for your encouragement and support. It’s comments like these that keep me writing, so I will definitely continue.

      I am super glad to hear you agree with me on the Shakespeare in Love winning awards. Whilst I can’t comment yet on the film itself, I will continue to stand by my statement that it should not have beaten Saving Private Ryan.

      Cheers,

      Sam.

  4. David Says:

    Sam,

    I am in complete agreement regarding ‘There will Be Blood’. That film was horrid! Not only was it tedious; it was also depressing. Now I should clarify- drawing out emotion is not an altogether negative plot aspect. As you mentioned, it could be the result of solid acting and empathy. But just give me a couple rays ‘o sunshine and I will be on my way!

    There needs to be at least some hope or pivotal plot progression.

    Daniel Day-Lewis, though, is quite the actor.

    Good acting without a solid, or interesting, plot is much like going to MacDonalds and ordering from the Salads Plus menu. It’s just a waste of time and space! That space in your belly would be much better filled with a delightful double quarter pounder, with a side of large chocolate thickshake. If there is still room for dessert (which urban legend would suggest there is) then hit up a caramel sundae. Mmmmmm. How did I end up speaking of fast food? Haha

    Dave @ filmstank


Leave a Reply

