Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time Film Review by Sam

When preparing myself to watch the somewhat anticipated Prince of Persia, I was in the mood to be entertained. So I purchased some drumsticks with a mate, took my seat, and relaxed. For this film, I didn’t want to have to think too much about complicated plot lines and lots of character development. I needed a break from this, as it’s all I’ve been watching of late. Luckily for me, Prince of Persia was exactly that, an entertaining film, nothing more, and nothing less.
Prince of Persia Poster
Firstly, this film was very heavy on the CGI, and didn’t hold back, even when they probably should have. Was this necessarily a bad thing? Not entirely. It fitted with the style of the film, but I guess a more realistic approach could have made the film even just a little bit better. There were a couple of scenes in which I could quite clearly tell that it was CGI and not real, and this caused me to be momentarily pulled out of my viewing experience, but it was nothing too drastic or too delayed, and I whilst a quick thought concerning the authenticity of the scene would pop into my head, I was able to quickly get back to the film.

Jake Gyllenhaal in Prince of Persia

Jake Gyllenhaal in Prince of Persia

The performances were so-so. Jake Gyllenhaal was good in the titular role, but not great He managed to pull off the crazy martial arts action hero, but not so much his accent. It’s not that it was all over the place, but more so it just felt like it didn’t fit in every scene. Mind you, I was pleased to see he went for an accent a bit more left of field, rather than just doing the cliché American, tough guy accent. The rest of the cast were okay too. I don’t think the performances were meant to be Oscar worthy performances, which is why I will let it slip the one time.

Some of the scenes were a bit too corny and cliché. The delivery and placement of some dialogue was what we’ve all seen too much before, and it was a shame they couldn’t put their own unique twist on these particular scenes. None-the-less, as I mentioned before, these scenes did provide entertainment, and some comic relief, which is okay for them to do.

The story was fine, and was paced quite nicely. From the get-go I was drawn in to the action, and at no point did I feel the film dragging. For an action packed film, this is what a viewer wants.

For a film that is based off a video game, it does well for itself. Although it could have been great, and some may have even called it the next Pirates of the Caribbean. It decided to take the easy option and just go with the typical blockbuster movie formula. That’s not necessarily to say it wasn’t good or entertaining, which I’m sure you’ve gathered by now that I did indeed think this film was entertaining, but I’m just saying it the potential to kick start another franchise that not only captured the hearts of avid blockbuster fans, but even the hearts of the harshest of critics.

Johnny Depp in Pirates of the Caribbean

Johnny Depp in Pirates of the Caribbean

Regardless, I give it 3 film reels.

3FilmReels

Explore posts in the same categories: Film Reviews

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

