The Road Film Review by Sam

I’ve actually recently started becoming a fan of post-apocalyptic films, such as the more recent The Book of Eli (of which I still haven’t reviewed, as I don’t know how to sum up its greatness in one review) – and so I wasn’t disappointed that I was to watch The Road. To be honest, I didn’t really know much about the film going into the cinema, I hadn’t watched the trailer, or at least not for a long time, and I hadn’t read many/if any reviews. All I knew was that it was based off a book, it was meant to be a faithful adaption, and it was a post-apocalyptic film.

The Road Poster

The technical aspects of the film were well executed, nothing outrageously good, but it served the plot extremely well, which is what they’re meant for. The cinematography was gritty, and a lot of it was hand-held which provided this realistic tone in what was an unrealistic world for the common viewer, so that was a commendable aspect.

The setting was a highlight of the film, and establishing shots showed to audiences this wide, barren and desolate land. Ironically, it was a somewhat beautiful spectacle; this empty space of land with dull and gloomy colours provided such a great backdrop for the film, and evoked an immense amount of sympathy for the characters and their hopeless situation.

Viggo Mortensen and Kodi Smit-McPhee

Viggo Mortensen and Kodi Smit-McPhee

The performances of this film were spot on too. I think it’s been some time since I’ve seen Viggo Mortensen on the big-screen, in fact, I’m certain the final Lord of the Rings film was the most recent encounter, but he delivered a great performance. He had me feeling empathy for his character, whilst also being disappointed in some of the actions he took – a great effort from Mortensen. Kodi Smit-McPhee in his role as ‘The Boy,’ or Viggo’s son was a good effort too. Both Viggo Mortensen and Kodi Smit-McPhee did extremely well at portraying a father-son relationship in this broken to pieces world. Additionally, Charlize Theron did exceptionally well in her smaller role, and it was interesting to see Robert Duvall and Guy Pearce in extremely small roles, who as well, performed incredibly well. I would like to make a special mention to Michael K. Williams who was an incredible scene-stealer in his small role that he played. Without giving away too much, I will say that his performance had me totally engrossed into the scene, and he was able to evoke a great amount of emotion, even though his part was so small.

Michael K. Williams

Michael K. Williams is scene-stealing in The Road

I will make a quick mention to the fact that there isn’t a whole lot explained. I’m still deciding whether that was necessarily a bad thing, but there wasn’t a great deal of satisfaction towards the end – leaving me with questions. Whether or not I want to know the answers to those questions is another question entirely, but none-the-less, I had questions.

Whilst majority of the film had good, appropriate pacing, I felt some scenes were a little out of place in the context with what was happening in the rest of the film at that point. It wasn’t a major drawback, I felt compelled to comment on it.

An enthralling film, with all the appropriate methods used to tell a great story of a relationship between a father and his son.

4 film reels out of 5.

4 Film Reels

Explore posts in the same categories: Film Reviews

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “The Road Film Review by Sam”

  1. NeilVH Says:

    Agreed completely with Michael K. Williams and Theron, although I’d have to say Kodi Smith-McPhee was a big stand-out too. You gotta see Viggo in ‘A History of Violence’ and ‘Eastern Promises’ to appreciate his acting chops, but he was pretty good in this too.

    Best part of the film was the cinematography. And the music.

    • filmstank Says:

      I will try to hire those movies my good man.

      It’s funny you mention the music, as I noticed there was a significant lack of music, although perhaps that’s why you enjoyed it. It wasn’t overdone, which is a plus, and was only used at the very necessary of times.

      Thanks for the comments brother!


Leave a Reply

