Date Night Review by Dave

For a long time I subscribed to the theory that woman simply cannot be funny. Indeed, it’s a very polarizing statement- undoubtedly and particularly among the woman- but I’ve learned that life is not about pleasing the masses, even if those masses are angry wannabe-comedian woman. Some may argue that I’m just not watching the right television. Interestingly I don’t really watch much television at all. Then I saw Date Night starring Tina Fey and Steve Carell and I was forced to rethink my postion.

Date Night Poster

Tina Fey is an absolute crackup! The brilliance lies in her natural approach to being herself. Now that previous statement may have sounded a little tautologous and somewhat paradoxical but therein lies the illuminating  truth. Fey’s comedy is natural. Unlike the hopeless parades of limelight-bounding woman who feel it necessary to embrace a sarcastic-and often vulgar- alternative persona to showcase the funny (I shudder at the image brewing in my mind), Tina Fey’s comedy is effortless: it’s elegant sophistication meets Scooby-Doo. I was holding in the laughter out of fear of embarrassment.

Steve Carell made the perfect sidekick. His dopey Sylvester-Stallone-comes-to-Manhattan feel was light and fun. For the non-Sly lovers, Carell played a slightly more sophisticated Derek Zoolander in a domestic-turned-criminal-underground scenario with an ridiculous, yet non-exhausting, plot.

I draw attention to “plot” for a number of reasons. Firstly, I am a strong advocate the integral presence of a strong (or at least a simple) plot. The plot in Date Night was extremely unlikely but surprisingly I was not left frustrated. I’m struggling to not make a comparison to 2009 film “UP” which, in my opinion, took the unlikely (and extremely tedious I might add) plot to the levels of Chinese water torture. I don’t think it matter if your target audience is infants or adults, a logical (even complicated) plot is always a winner.

Having said all this, the unlikely storyline was a timely accompaniment to Fey and Carell’s comedy. The two elements went hand in hand.

Shirtless Mark Wahlberg

One of my favourite scenes involved a certain Mark Wahlberg who, uncharacteristically, was not wearing a shirt. When Fey and Carell make a surprise visit in the middle of the night, a scantily clad Israeli woman appears on the staircase to inquire as to whether they (Fey and Carell) will be joining them (her and Walhberg) in the bedroom. This was amusing in itself. The funniest part was a brief aside made by the Israeli woman regarding the visiting couple. I won’t ruin the scene- but it was so bizarre, and seemingly out of context that it made me laugh out loud.

It’s not going to be nominated for Academy Awards- nor will it probably be a box office killer. But for the purpose of delivering a great night out, it was on the money.

I give it a pleasant 3.5 reels out of 5. Good light-hearted comedy.

Explore posts in the same categories: Film Reviews

Leave a Reply

