Green Zone Review by Sam

It was interesting to note that this can literally be described as a mix between the Bourne series (no shock there) and The Hurt Locker, and that’s it. Plain and simple. I would honestly say that it’s like the films have melded into one, with the visuals and the settings of The Hurt Locker and the storylines and pacing of the Bourne series.

The Green Zone

This is a hard film to review, as it wasn’t poor, yet it wasn’t awesome. It just didn’t stand out. I think there was too much expectation of Paul Greengrass (the director of the latter two Bourne instalments, which were outstanding, might I add) to make an amazing film. He had his buddy Matt Damon by his side, and everything was looking on the up. I think that may have been its problem as well as the fact it was too similar to things we’ve seen before.

Director: Paul Greengrass

In the Directors chair: Paul Greengrass

The realistic settings and handheld camera movements combined with the corrupt special intelligence plotline seemed a little too contrived. Although the film is credited to be inspired by Imperial Life in the Emerald City, a non-fiction book by journalist Rajiv Chandrasekaran, the story still feels a little out of place.

One technical aspect I would like to comment on is the cinematography by Barry Ackroyd. We’ve seen his work before in works such as Greengrass’s United 93, and more recently, The Hurt Locker, the latter of which he was nominated for an academy award. Some elements we fine, and I enjoyed about 65% of the filming, but it was this other 35% that had me complaining. Firstly, the amount of grain/noise we could see in the night scenes was too much. It was always on my mind, and then one particular scene where Matt Damon’s face was completely pixelated had me moving in my chair. Some other elements worth mentioning was the use of focus. There was one particular scene I remember where the camera zoomed in on some characters, and took its time to get back into focus. It just got to a point where it was somewhat distracting, and whilst they were trying for that realistic approach, they needed to draw the line somewhere.

On a more positive note, the performances were fine, the flow was quite good, and I was entertained as the movie progressed. Matt Damon delivered another reliable performance yet again, as did his co-stars Greg Kinnear and Brendan Gleeson.

Regardless of the strange mix of realism and corrupt special intelligence, it still intrigued me, and kept me wanting to know how it was going to end. I think there was a relief on my behalf that there was a consistent story, with a setup, a development/complication and then a resolution (unlike the more critically praised Hurt Locker).

I’m going to give this film 3 film reels.

Explore posts in the same categories: Film Reviews

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

