Alice in Wonderland Review by Sam

Alice in Wonderland! One of the most anticipated films of 2010, what with Tim Burton and Johnny Depp reuniting once again (on what is there 7th collaboration together) for what is a classic and lovable fantasy story that has been passed through many generations and follows a girl named Alice and her crazy adventures through Wonderland. Alice in Wonderland has had over 20 film adaptations since 1903, and it can be easily debated that it is one of the most popular children’s novel of all time, hence the anticipation.

Alice in Wonderland

Now, onwards to the review!

I found this to be an extremely visually amazing film with great performances (most notably Matt Lucas in his role as Tweedledee and Tweedledum, as well as the always great, Johnny Depp as The Mad Hatter), and I have to say that I loved the film.

Johnny Depp in Alice in Wonderland

Johnny Depp as The Mad Hatter

As soon as I heard there was going to be a Tim Burton adaptation of Alice with Johnny Depp as The Mad Hatter, I was stoked. Upon the release of the film, I was unable to see it straight away, and I continuously heard poor reviews, stating simply that visually it was amazing, but the story was lacking. Nonetheless, I was still going to see it, and about a week after it premiered, I did.

I couldn’t understand what all the negativity was about. Mostly I think it was because people expected to see the original story, which wasn’t used in this film, and so they came out feeling disappointed.

Luckily for me, because of the bad reviews, I went in with somewhat low expectations, and was pleasantly surprised.

Let me explain the specifics I enjoyed about the film.

First and foremost, as stated before, the visuals were absolutely stunning. The design of each and every scene was amazing and surreal, and it allowed the viewer to be taken into a completely different world. The animation was fantastic and the motion-capture characters were extremely well done. I found it extremely exciting to see how the creators had transformed each of the actors into the characters that we know and love.

Another highlight was the performances of the actors, and watching each and every character coming alive. The actors departed from there normal selves and literally became the characters they were portraying. My favourite characters were Tweedledee and Tweedledum, as portrayed by Matt Lucas.

Matt Lucas in Alice in Wonderland

Matt Lucas as Tweedledee and Tweedledum

He stole every single scene he was in, and provided hilarious comic relief. As well as this, he made the character his own, departing from a lot of the previous “Tweedledee’s and Tweedledum’s” that we’ve seen. Another honourable mention should be given to Johnny Depp, again taking the audience on a wild adventure with his portrayal of The Mad Hatter. This is a great performance by Mr. Depp, and again provides his own interpretation of the character we all love. A mention should also go to Helena Bonham Carter who transformed wonderfully into The Red Queen, giving the audience a character we love to hate. The voice acting was superb also, especially Stephen Fry in his role as the Cheshire Cat and Alan Rickman as the Blue Caterpillar, both immersing themselves completely into the characters. I will also quickly mention the leading lady, Mia Wasikowska, who I am proud to say is an Aussie, like myself, and holds the fort well as the one and only Alice Kingsley. A great performance by the ensemble cast.

Another mention should go to the composer Danny Elfman. He provides an amazing score for the film, creating great emphasis to the crazy yet wonderful world Wonderland is. The music he created for the film is beautifully composed and, in my opinion, this should score Elfman his 5th Oscar nomination, and hopefully his first win.

I think the only down-point of the film was the length. It was actually quite short, and I felt it needed some more developing to the story lines, and a more in depth ending to make it a complete success. I mean Alice in Wonderland needs a lot of time to explore!

Nonetheless, I think Tim Burton has done an amazing job with his handling the world of Wonderland and bringing his version of Alice in Wonderland to life.

I give it 4 film reels.

4 Film Reels

Explore posts in the same categories: Film Reviews

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Alice in Wonderland Review by Sam”

  1. NeilVH Says:

    I would have to disagree on some points there. I think visually the film was great. Wonderful colours and very Gothic, Burtonesque designs which were thankfully not heavily tweeked by Disney. The music, too, was great as well as the make up, etc. But the story was pathetic. Such a great premise ruined by a formulaic format, racing from one small complication to another without being able to understand, let alone fully empathize with the direction, the character or the (very cheesy) dialog. There are times when such dialog is accepted, but it should never be found in a Tim Burton film.

    Props to Bonham Carter and Fry. They did the best with what they had. Alan Rickman was affable, as was Wasikowska.

    Depp… I’m not so sure of. Granted his character was interesting to a point, but what were the reasons for his choices regarding the psychosis of the Mad Hatter? There was a disjointed atmosphere about him, and to me it seemed like Burton and Depp made these choices purely on the notion of ‘Let’s make him weird’. What do you guys think about it?

    I love your website guys. Keep on doing this.

    Sup Beckman. Hahah


Leave a Reply

